Friday, October 21, 2011

Artist: Deadly Snakes, Album: Porcella, Song: Debt Collection

The Deadly Snakes were a rock band from Toronto that formed during the mid nineties.  They released their debut album with U.S. garage rock label, Sympathy For The Record Industry.  The band would eventually switch to In The Red Records for their remaining 3 releases.  This L.A. based label's roster included a number of great garage rock revival bands like The Dirtbombs and The Reigning Sound.  The Deadly Snakes toured Canada and the U.S. and by 2004, the band was invited to open for The Hives on tour.  Porcella was the band's final release in 2005.  The band consisted of Andre Ethier, Andrew Gunn, Matt Carlson, Jeremy Madsen, Chad Ross and a keyboardist with the alias, Age of Danger.  It was their most musically ambitious release to date and the band moved themselves into an 18th century cabin in the small, northern town of Ripley, Ontario for the recording.  Taking nothing away from their previous releases, Porcella was more than just a garage rock album and really elevated the band's sound.  The edgy rock sound still existed but it was complimented by string and horn arrangements.  The album was released in both vinyl and cd format yet the vinyl edition was a double album with five extra songs.  The album was also shortlisted for the Polaris Music Prize in 2006.  Debt Collection is the album opener and you can check it out on You Tube (  Sadly, the band split in 2006.  Vocalist, Andre Ethier has gone on to release music as a solo artist and you can follow him at  Gunn and Ross formed the band, Quest For Fire, and you can follow them at  You can purchase the album, Porcella, on Itunes.  Thanks for reading and enjoy!