Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Artist: Smokin' Frogs, Album: Waterproof, Song: Think

"Where do I belong in this world of hate, to make a change and do what I think?"  The Smokin' Frogs were an alternative rock band from British Columbia.  They released this album on Turtle Records in 1995, entitled, Waterproof.  The band was Jamie Osborne, Aaron Grain, Travis Rea, Paul Derksen and Jared Starling.  The song, Think, is a funky little number with an edge.  I love the drum and bass groove that opens this song.  Unfortunately, there isn't much information on the band although we do know that they are no more and the members have gone on to pursue other interests, some musically and some not.  Aaron Grain composes and produces music for television and film.  Turtle Records is still around and is based in White Rock, B.C..  The founder, Larry Anschell, has worked with everybody from Pearl Jam and Alice in Chains to Sarah Mclachlan.  Part of their vision was to provide local independent musicians with the means to record and release their music.  Unfortunately though, a lot of this material is never re-released digitally.  As is the case here, the Smokin' Frogs album, Waterproof, is likely very hard to find.  At the time of this blog, there were no copies available.  You can hear the track, Think, on You Tube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mr7df1BFeqA).  Thanks for reading and enjoy!